I have been reading A LOT lately about lightweight camping equipment and bug-out-bags. We preppers can learn a lot about what to put in our BOB’s from people who camp regularly. We all know that ounces add up to pounds, and pounds add up to pain, so we need to keep our bags as light as possible.

Tin Hat Ranch posted a challenge to us to strap on our packs and attempt an actual bug out. I have to say that I have not done this, other than a few walks to my local park (4 miles) and back with my backpack. I can tell you that I need to lighten the load in my bag considerably, so it’s time to get choosy about what I want to carry with me.

This is Tin Hat Ranch’s post about what they learned from their challenge:

http://tinhatranch.com/10-things-you-didnt-know-about-bugging-out/#.U4EjaGdOW01

Give it a read and check them out, you can learn a lot!

